The Potawatomi Chapter is a 600+ member branch of the International Mountain Biking Association. We are a diverse collection of riders whose enthusiasm for mountain biking and dedication to our local trails makes us an exciting group to belong to! Our busy calendar offers plenty of opportunity to participate in a broad variety of activities, as little or often as you like.

Our mission is “to maintain and develop mountain biking trails, promote and advocate for the sport of mountain biking and build the mountain biking community in Washtenaw, Lenawee, and Livingston counties.”

Named after one of the greatest trails in the state, the Poto Chapter helps preserve and maintain several local trail systems. These trails include Potawatomi, Brighton, Olson Park, Rolling Hills, Morton-Taylor, Hewen’s Creek, Heritage Park, Sharon Mills, and the DTE Energy Foundation Trail.

In addition, we organize several annual events, group rides, and trail days. We strive to provide a fun environment while staying true to IMBA’s mission of trail advocacy. Check out our Events Calendar.

So come out and join us for a ride or meet us at one of our chapter meetings.

What We Do

The Potawatomi Chapter of the IMBA built the Brighton mountain bike trail system from scratch. The IMBA as a whole has also developed, maintained or built all of the other major mountain biking trails in SE Michigan, including Pinckney, Island Lake, Maybury, Pontiac Lake and Highland Recreation Areas. The IMBA is the only group representing mountain bikers in Michigan that is recognized by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources (M-DNR) and the US Forest Service. We support our passion for mountain biking by being stewards of the trails through volunteering on trail maintenance and development days. We would not have such fantastic trails in SE Michigan without our trail work.

Chapter Officers

Carl Loomis, President
Doug Helland, Vice-President
Mike and Michelle Balhorn, Treasurer(s)

Board Members

Mitch Bray
Michael Connolly
Julie Ingram
Jason Aric Jones
Chris LaBaere
Anne Santa Maria